Hawkins County consists of mostly mountainous terrain in the northeast corner of the state. The north boundary of the county is the state of Virginia. The county was established in 1786 and is named in honor of Benjamin Hawkins. The county seat is at Rogersville.

Benjamin Hawkins was a member of the Continental Congress from North Carolina and later (1789-1795) a United States Senator from North Carolina. Hawkins signed the Deed of Cession which conveyed the Southwest Territory to the Federal Government. The 'Southwest Territory' is now the State of Tennessee.

Several points of interest include the John Sevier Refuge (Wildlife Management Area) and part of the Trail of the Lonesome Pine State Scenic Trail.

Hawkins County was formed from land that earlier had been part of Sullivan County.


Good link with alot of information about Hawkins Co.(schools, events, community data, etc....)


(bookmark now, or use your BACK button to find your way back, no return link)


East TN Counties | East TN Auctions | Site Navigation | East TN Lakes & Rivers | East TN Parks & Forests | East TN Golf Course Directory | East TN History & Folklore | East TN Recreation | East TN Fairs & Festivals | East TN Campgrounds & Boat Docks | Home Page | Getting your company on 1st Choice



Page Designed and Maintained
by Dragon Designs
Copyright 2000 by 3-18-96 - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

all information deemed reliable but not guaranteed