The state line of Virginia forms the northern boundary of Hancock County, which was established in 1844. Sneedville serves as the county seat. This northeastern Tennessee County was named in honor of John Hancock.

A member of the Continental Congress from Massachusetts, John Hancock presided over the Congress for the adoption of the Declaration of Independence. He was the first signer. His flamboyant signature is well known. Twice governor of Massachusetts, Hancock died in that office in 1793.

Mostly mountainous, Hancock County was formed from lands that previously had been part Hawkins and Claiborne Counties.

Good link with alot of information about Hancock Co. 


(bookmark now, or use your BACK button to find your way back, no return link)


East TN Counties | East TN Auctions | Site Navigation | East TN Lakes & Rivers | East TN Parks & Forests | East TN Golf Course Directory | East TN History & Folklore | East TN Recreation | East TN Fairs & Festivals | East TN Campgrounds & Boat Docks | Home Page | Getting your company on 1st Choice




Page Designed and Maintained
by Dragon Designs
Copyright 2000 by 3-18-96 - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

all information deemed reliable but not guaranteed